Scroll to content

Interactive Bar

Call Us
Email Us
Norwood Primary School

Norwood Primary & Pre-School

Zones of Regulation

What are the Zones of Regulation?

The Zones of Regulation teach children to be aware of their feelings and to give them strategies to regulate their feelings.

It organises our feelings into 4 colour zones so it is easy for us to explain or share which zone we are in.


The Red Zone is used to describe extremely heightened states of alertness and intense emotions.  A person may be elated or experiencing anger, rage, devastation, or terror when in the Red Zone.


The Yellow Zone is also used to describe a heightened state of alertness and elevated emotions, however one has more control when they are in the Yellow Zone.  A person may be experiencing stress, frustration, anxiety, excitement, silliness, the wiggles, or nervousness when in the Yellow Zone. 


The Green Zone is used to describe a calm state of alertness. A person may be described as happy, focused, content, or ready to learn when in the Green Zone.  This is the zone where optimal learning occurs. 


The Blue Zone is used to describe low states of alertness and down feelings such as when one feels sad, tired, sick, or bored. 


There are a range of coping strategies that we can use to help us calm down and get back to the Green Zone, where we are calm and ready for learning. The strategies we have discussed at school are below but each person may have others that work best for them.