Scroll to content

Interactive Bar

Call Us
Email Us
Norwood Primary School

Norwood Primary & Pre-School


Curriculum Overview

There are four main strands of the new Computing curriculum: Information technology, Digital Literacy, Online Saftey and Computer Science.


Information technology (IT) is about the use of computers for functional purposes, such as collecting and presenting information, or using search technology. IT will introduce children of all ages to understanding how computers and networks work.


Digital literacy is about the safe and responsible use of technology, including recognising its advantages for collaboration or communication. This can also include the use of iPads.


Finally, Computer Science gives all children the opportunity to learn basic computer programming, from simple floor robots in Early Years, right up to creating on-screen computer games and programmes by Year 6.


Computing skills and concepts are taught on a weekly basis right across the curriculum using the laptops or tablets in the  classroom.


At the heart of all we do is Online Saftey. Through this, the children will cover how to use technology safely, respectfully and responsibly. Regular teaching of online safety (or e-safety) is important to ensure that children feel confident when using computers and the Internet, and know what to do if they come across something either inappropriate or uncomfortable.


Please see the E-Saftey page, found under the parents tab, for any information regarding current online safety documentation and presentations.